Bransgrove and Dyer gain Australia Day honours

Gippsland pair gain recognition for outstanding work in transport as do those involved in freight infrastructure provision and reform

January 27, 2012

The Victorian region of Gippsland has the rare distinction of nailing recognition twice in the 2012 Australian Honours, with Nola Bransgrove of Branstrans and Graeme Dyer of Dyers Gippsland Transport gaining Medals of the Order of Australia (OAM).

Australian Trucking Association CEO Stuart St Clair paid tribute to them.

"Nola has made an enormous contribution to the trucking industry. She won the National Trucking Industry Woman of the Year Award in 1997, after serving on the boards of two trucking industry associations," St Clair says.

"She looked after the superannuation of trucking industry employees as a director of the Transport Industry Superannuation Fund from 1996 to 2009, and has been steadfast in promoting the role of women in the industry.

"Nola was the chair of Transport Women Australia from 2001 to 2004. In 2009, she was appointed as the inaugural chair of the Victorian Government’s Transport and Logistics Workforce Advisory Group.

"Meanwhile, her company, Branstrans, is accredited under the ATA’s TruckSafe program, which puts it amongst the safest and best-managed trucking businesses in the country."

St Clair praised Dyer’s community and safety work.

"As well as running Dyers Transport, Graeme has made a valuable contribution to the Gippsland community and road safety education.

"He was a Sale city councillor from 1991 to 1994, and has been an active member of the Sale Rotary Club since 1972.

"Graeme sponsored the ATA’s Safety Education Trailer when it visited Gippsland to provide young people with tips about how to share the road safely with trucks."

Traralgon-based Bransgrove received hers for "service to the transport and logistics industry, to women, and to the community", while Dyer’s came for "service to the road transport industry, and to the community of Wellington".

Others to gain OAMs included former Labor Party Transport Minister Peter Morris for "service to the Parliament of Australia through a range of ministerial portfolios, and to the maritime industry and ship safety", and volunteer truck driver Gus Wohlschlarger for "service to the community of Port Pirie".

Amongst those gaining august Companion (AC) status was inaugural Infrastructure Australia member Terry Moran.

Services to infrastructure led go-to man Rod Eddington to gain Officer (AO) status for "distinguished service to business and commerce through roles with a range of national and international economic, trade, infrastructure development and transport organisations".

Queensland’s Dr John Fenwick was awarded for "service to engineering through a range of executive roles, to the design and construction of major transport infrastructure, such as bridges, and to education".

Public Service Medals of note were for work in freight-related infrastructure and reform.

Leslie Riggs took hers for "outstanding public service in playing critical roles in driving national transport reform, especially in establishing Auslink and development of the three national transport regulators, for heavy vehicle, rail and maritime safety.

Peter Trim, the Executive Director for the North West Region in the Queensland Department of Transport and Main Roads, gained his for outstanding public service to the development and delivery of road and transport infrastructure in Queensland, especially major works projects through alliance contracts, including the Barkly Highway upgrade and the Burke Developmental Road.

Subscribe to our newsletter

Sign up to receive the Owner Driver e-newsletter, digital magazine and other offers we choose to share with you straight to your inbox

You can also follow our updates by liking us on Facebook


Trucks For Hire | Forklifts For Hire | Cranes For Hire | Generators For Hire | Transportable Buildings For Hire