Hawkins, Simon among operators recognised at awards night

Hawkins takes home driver award at QTA awards night, while Simon National Carriers owner is recognised for services to trucking

October 5, 2012

Hawkins Road Transport and Simon National Carriers were among the operators recognised at this year’s Queensland Trucking Association’s (QTA) awards night.

Hawkins driver Robert Schalkwyk took home the Professional Driver of the Year gong, while Simon National Carriers owner David Simon won the Industry Excellence Award for his contribution to the sector.

Shane Gossner from Russell Transport won the Industry Safety Award for contributing to and maintaining safety standards, while Aaron Collins from Frasers Livestock Transport received the Young Achiever Award.

All Purpose Transport (APT) won the People Leadership Excellence Award for its initiative to qualify its entire staff above a certificate III level.

APT General Manager Paul Kahlert says his business is aiming to qualify its workforce by March 2013.

"This project addresses our mantra that we’ve had in place at APT for decades. We know that the best people equals best business and this is another step forward to recognise the skills of our people and establish ourselves firmly as an industry employer of choice," Kahlert says.

"Our workforce consists of 80 employees and 180 owner-drivers, all of whom are included in this opportunity. When we asked our workforce if they wanted to participate, we were so pleased to have 100 percent respond positively to this idea."

APT is working with the Queensland Government to deliver the initiative, and is also drawing on help from other areas.

"We are also receiving support from the Transport and Logistics Industry Skills Council, with funding from the Federal Government’s National Workforce Development Fund, Metropolitan South Institute of TAFE and MEGT to deliver this extensive program," Kahlert says.

"The program is a great outcome of what can be achieved when everyone works together. We also want to share our experience with other industry employers and help them to join us in raising the professionalism of our vibrant and diverse industry.

The QTA also awarded Tracie Dickenson from Daryl Dickenson Transport the Trucking Woman of the Year prize, with Vince Moriconi from BP receiving the Driving Excellence Award for a long-term commitment to the road freight industry.

Bookmark and Share

Subscribe to our newsletter

Sign up to receive the Owner Driver e-newsletter, digital magazine and other offers we choose to share with you straight to your inbox

You can also follow our updates by liking us on Facebook


Trucks For Hire | Forklifts For Hire | Cranes For Hire | Generators For Hire | Transportable Buildings For Hire