ATA trims back awards for 2013

Nominations have opened for the 2013 National Trucking Industry Awards, but two gongs have been given the flick

February 1, 2013

Nominations for the 2013 National Trucking Industry Awards have opened, but two gongs previously on the list have been done away with.

Run by the Australian Trucking Association (ATA), the awards will be presented on June 21 at the Trucking Australia convention.

The awards now open for nominations are Outstanding Contribution to the Australian Trucking Industry, National Trucking Industry Woman of the Year and National Professional Driver of the Year.

The ATA in 2012 included the Training Excellence and the Highway Guardian awards, but both have been left off this year.

Nominations must be received by May 1.

ATA CEO Stuart St Clair says the awards recognise some of the most committed individuals and businesses in the industry.

"The honour roll of the National Trucking Industry Awards showcases some of our best and brightest – those who have dedicated themselves to improving the safety, professionalism and viability of our industry," he says.

"The standards for these awards are incredibly high, with the winners going above and beyond the requirements of their work. For example, William Watson, the 2012 winner of the Professional Driver of the Year Award, has over 50 years of accident-free driving to his credit – a testament to his ongoing dedication to safety and professionalism on the road."

The Don Watson Memorial Award and the TruckSafe John Kelly Memorial Award will also be presented at the awards ceremony. The Craig Roseneder Award will be presented in October. Nominations for this award close on 20 September.

The Outstanding Contribution prize acknowledges the commitment of an individual or organisation to improving the trucking industry.

The Trucking Industry Woman of the Year Award, which went to Hawkins Transport CEO Roz Shaw last year, recognises the contribution made by a woman within the industry.

The ATA says the National Professional Driver of the Year Award recognises the outstanding performance of a professional truck driver, including driving skill, attitude and contribution to industry improvement.

The Don Watson Memorial Award This award is presented to a person who has given conspicuous service to the industry. The winner is selected from a range of people who do not need to nominate to be considered.

The TruckSafe John Kelly Memorial Award recognises a TruckSafe accredited operator that has successfully implemented and promoted the program.

Click here to make a nomination.

Bookmark and Share

You can also follow our updates by liking us on Facebook


Trucks For Hire | Forklifts For Hire | Cranes For Hire | Generators For Hire | Transportable Buildings For Hire