RSRT lists further dates to examine industry applications


Tribunal will hold simultaneous hearings in all states and territories to examine applications for road safety remuneration orders

June 21, 2013

The Road Safety Remuneration Tribunal (RSRT) will hold hearings in all states and territories simultaneously in July to examine applications for road safety remuneration orders.

The tribunal wrapped up hearings earlier this month on proposals from the Transport Workers Union, the Australian Road Transport Industrial Organisation, the National Union of Workers and transporter Intercapital Trucking.

However, it says it will hold further hearings on July 8 to give interested parties the opportunity to have their say about the submissions, which include proposals for setting rates, introducing a training levy, mandating paid waiting time and setting payment terms.

The hearings will be held at 10am in Sydney, Melbourne, Canberra, Hobart and Brisbane. They will begin at 9.30am in Adelaide and Darwin, and at 8am in Perth.

The tribunal’s role includes passing road safety remuneration orders, which can establish minimum rates and conditions individual sectors or entire supply chains must abide by.

RSRT members are currently visiting companies and sites around the country to consult truck drivers and businesses as part of the development of orders.

The tribunal has posted the location of each July 8 hearing here.




Bookmark and Share





You can also follow our updates by liking us on Facebook