Glenn Munn wins NatRoad Pro Driver award

Photography by: Greg Bush

Ron Crouch Transport's Glenn Munn has won the prestigious 2016 NatRoad Professional Driver of the Year Award

Glenn Munn wins NatRoad Pro Driver award
Glenn Munn at the Cairns Convention Centre with this 2016 NatRoad Professional Driver of the Year award


Ron Crouch Transport driver Glenn Munn has taken out the NatRoad 2016 Professional Driver of the Year award.

Munn received his award during the 2016 NatRoad Gala Dinner and Awards at the Cairns Convention Centre on August 19.

NatRoad Chief Executive Officer Warren Clark says Munn, a former owner-driver, has been involved in the transport industry for over 30 years without accident or injury and with an exemplary record.

For Munn, it was an extra special night as it was his first NatRoad conference and his first ever visit to Cairns.

Clark says the 2016 NatRoad Gala Dinner and Awards presented by Cummins, Paccar and the Paccar Dealer Group was a highlight of the two day 2016 NatRoad Conference in Cairns.

In addition to the Professional Driver Award, Jason Burton from National Tilt Tray Service took out the 2016 Transport Youth Award. Burton was recognised due to his role as an active advocate raising awareness for road safety as well as stopping regularly to assist fellow motorists.

Clark presented the Ted Pickering Memorial Award for Outstanding Contribution to the Australian Road Freight Industry to Haset Sali.

"Mr Sali was instrumental in establishing the National Transport Federation even providing office space for its operations," Clark says.

"Amongst his achievements, he introduced speed limiter son all new articulated vehicles throughout Australia and laying the foundations for a national system of driver registration and accreditation."

NatRoad members who have been with road transport organisations for more than 35 years were also honoured during the Gala Dinner and Awards.

"It is a privilege to support members, many of whom have been with NatRoad for decades," Clark says.

"NatRoad has a very special group of members who have been members of road transport industry associations for more than 35 years.

"Thirteen companies have continuous membership with NatRoad as well as the forerunning associations the Long Distance Transport Association (1948) and the National Transport Federation (1986)."

Clark says it is approaching the 70th year since the transport industry association was formed.

"NatRoad would like to recognise those companies and people who have laid the foundations of this industry.

"Road transport heritage is wrapped up in these long running companies and they continue to contribute to creating a bright future for the industry.

"Amongst the recipients of the Foundation Member Award are five NatRoad members who have held a membership for over 50 years – Lindsay Australia, Max Keogh Transport, Nubridge Holdings, HTS Logistics and John L Pierce," Clark says.

"Terry Walker receiving his Foundation Member awarded cited his attendance at every NatRoad Conference since 1989."

Clark says the 2016 NatRoad Conference had been enormously successful with over 260 attendees from across Australia.

Subscribe to our newsletter

Sign up to receive the Owner Driver e-newsletter, digital magazine and other offers we choose to share with you straight to your inbox

You can also follow our updates by liking us on Facebook


Trucks For Hire | Forklifts For Hire | Cranes For Hire | Generators For Hire | Transportable Buildings For Hire