LBRCA Young Driver Of The Year: True blue Drew takes title

By: Cobey Bartels, Photography by: Cobey Bartels

LBRCA driver of the year 2 Drew Cannon and Stockmaster Transport Operations Manager Mick Maloney. LBRCA driver of the year 2
LBRCA driver of the year Drew Cannon with the Kenny he runs day in, day out. LBRCA driver of the year
LBRCA winner LBRCA Young Driver of the Year Award Winner Drew Cannon accepting the award on stage. LBRCA winner

Stockmaster Transport livestock truckie Drew Cannon took out this year’s Livestock, Bulk and Rural Carriers Association (LBRCA) Young Driver of the Year award amongst stiff competition from the other four finalists.


The announcement came at this year’s LBRCA Annual Conference held in Dubbo, an industry event aimed at driving innovation and industry progress within the livestock and greater transport industry.

Drew’s love for trucking shone through with what was a brief but heartfelt acceptance speech, thanking his family and colleagues.

The 31-year-old Tamworth truckie encourages other young people to enter the industry, emphasising that you can make a great life driving.

"It’s a great way for a young person to get ahead, pay a mortgage, make a living," Drew told Owner//Driver.

"I’ve got a house, and i’m looking to buy a property in the future, trucking gives you a good go."

When asked what the award means to him, the humble operator didn’t have much to say other than that he was proud.

Drew gave a big thanks to Stockmaster Transport and their Operations Manager Mick Maloney for all the support he’s been given along the way.

LBRCA President Lynley Miners kicked the annual award off three years ago, with the aim of creating enthusiasm and positive industry news for the industry, as well as inspiring the next generation of truck drivers.

The winner each year gets a trip to the United States to the value of $5,000 to see how trucking gets on outside of Australia.

Keep on trucking’, Drew!

The five finalists for the 2017 Young Driver of the Year award were:

  • Nicholas Masters – White’s Stock Transport
  • Drew Cannon – Stockmaster Pty Ltd (Winner)
  • Ricky Hetherington – CJ Maddern Pty Ltd
  • Tony Keen – AB Keen Transport
  • Jeremy Taylor – Taylor’s of Bungendore

You can also follow our updates by liking us on Facebook