Finalists announced for Volvo Trucks Drivers' Fuel Challenge

The full list of drivers competing in the 2017 Volvo Trucks Drivers’ Fuel Challenge has been released ahead of the semi-final and final scheduled for tomorrow and Friday in Brisbane.

Finalists announced for Volvo Trucks Drivers' Fuel Challenge
Victoria State Winner, Cameron Simpson of Simpsons Fuel.


In addition to the six state winners who were chosen through nation-wide analysis of the intuitive Volvo Dynafleet software’s driver scores, a further 11 drivers will be competing for the national title.

The winners are:

  • VCV Sydney competition winner: James Darby, Darbys Freightlines
  • VCV Newcastle competition winner: Scott Harvey, SRH Milk
  • VCV Newcastle competition runner up: Kent Ditton, Ditton Bulk Haulage 
  • Representing Australia Post, Rudy Licera
  • Representing Blu Logistics, Neil Pearson
  • Representing Caltas, Kerri Connors
  • Representing Glen Cameron Group, Scott Hughes
  • Representing Redstar, Hayden Varcoe
  • Representing Ron Finemore Transport, Dwayne Bourne
  • Representing Toll, James Ruff
  • Representing Toxfree, Andrew Brown

The six state winners will compete, alongside the dealer nominated and national fleet drivers, in a two-day semi-final and grand final to be held in Brisbane on July 20-21. The winner will then compete internationally at the finals in Gothenburg, Sweden.

Watch out for some live action from this week’s finals on the Owner//Driver Facebook page tomorrow and Friday – and full coverage in the Owner//Driver magazine and on the website.

You can also follow our updates by liking us on Facebook


Trucks For Hire | Forklifts For Hire | Cranes For Hire | Generators For Hire | Transportable Buildings For Hire