HVIA award winners enjoy deserved accolades

Buchholz praises industry for its resilience in challenging times

HVIA award winners enjoy deserved accolades
Scott Buchholz, Bob Martin and John Drake

The winners of Heavy Vehicle Industry Australia’s (HVIA’s) awards for leadership and innovation in the heavy vehicle sector were presented at a recent gala event in Brisbane.

The presentation, sponsored by National Transport Insurance (NTI) and Truck Assist, was also streamed around the country, where eager nominees and their supporters watched on.

Speaking at the event in Brisbane, Assistant Minister for Road Safety and Freight Transport, Scott Buchholz recognised and commended the heavy vehicle industry’s contribution to the nation’s resilience.

"We really, really appreciate everything the transport industry does for our great country," Buchholz said.

"The government is absolutely committed to getting our tax settings right, reducing the costs of doing business and providing an environment where, if you are manufacturing here in Australia, that your order book is full.

"And we did that during the pandemic, by bringing forward the instant asset write-off and implementing the accelerated depreciation.

"We heard from the likes of Todd Hacking, who chewed my ear and advocated that the existing $50,000 threshold wasn’t working for industry; so we took it out to $150,000.

"That was good for jobs, good for Australian businesses, good for local manufacturing and is delivering a safer, more productive and modern fleet.

"Then the likes of Paccar and Volvo got in my ear and said you can’t buy a truck for $150,000 – just take the cap off – and so we did!

"We did – we did it by working together and hopefully all that work has flowed through to your ledgers.

"Now we’ve got some supply chain issues globally, that are coupled up with Covid. Those are the next challenges, the next frontier of issues that we are going to have to deal with, but collectively we will do it.

"In closing I just want to share with each of you how proud, how enormously proud that I am to be able to serve you in this position."

Buchholz presented the Safety Innovation Award, sponsored by SafeTstop, to Driverisk Australia for the Lytx Drivecam SF300 which combines machine learning and artificial intelligence to monitor risk detection.

Scania’s Anna Maree Taylor accepted the Community Leadership Award on behalf of Scania Australia for the ongoing sustainability project undertaken by its Prestons dealership in NSW.

Taylor said the program has been so successful it is rolling out across Scania’s network Australia-wide.

"This was a grass roots programme, developed internally, though stimulated by Scania’s global shift towards a sustainable transport system," she added.

"The changes we have made can be undertaken by every truck workshop, large or small.

"This may have started with Scania but everyone can follow us."

Read about last year's HVIA award winners, here

The Product Innovation Award was presented to SEA Electric for Australia’s first volume produced range of all-electric trucks, from 4.5 tonne car-licence vehicles through to 22.5 tonne 3 axle trucks.

Matthew Longridge of MaxiTrans in Brisbane won the Peter Langworthy Future Leader Award. Matt has recently stepped up as production manager at MaxiTrans’ newly opened manufacturing facility in Carole Park, Queensland where he has excelled as a leader.

From a particularly deep field the winner of the 2021 National Apprentice of the Year Award, sponsored by Warby Tools, was Daniel Steuten, from Royans Melbourne.

Steuten expressed honourable intentions to pay it forward, saying: "I look forward to continuing to advance my skills in our trade as well as assisting future apprentices, and maybe one day having an apprentice who I assist winning this award themselves."

Four HVIA member companies were honoured with 50-year membership awards, having joined what was then the Commercial Vehicle Industry Association of Queensland (CVIAQ) at its first Annual General Meeting in 1971: The Brown & Hurley Group, Eaton Vehicle Group, MaxiTrans, and Rogers Axles and Springworks.

Former HVIA president Bob Martin was presented with HVIA’s Industry Recognition Award.

Currently celebrating 20 years at Jost Australia, Martin was the CVIAQ president when the organisation transitioned to become a national member advocacy body as HVIA.

He also oversaw the relocation of the Brisbane Truck Show to its current home at the Brisbane Convention and Exhibition Centre, and the construction of HVIA’s headquarters in Brisbane.

HVIA’s national awards are open to HVIA member companies and their employees, across Australia. Full details of each award can be found at hvia.asn.au/events/2021-hvia-national-awards/

Buchholz congratulated award recipients in all categories:

Community Leadership Award sponsored by Moreton Hire: Scania Australia, Sustainable products and operations

Product Innovation Award sponsored by NTI: SEA Electric, the first Australian produced all-electric truck Winner; Parish Engineering, When in doubt, lock it out Highly Commended

Safety Innovation Award sponsored by SafeTstop: Driverisk Australia, Drivecam SF300 – MV + AI risk detection Winner; Mass Products, Road Pod Highly Commended

National Apprentice of the Year Award sponsored by Warby Tools: Daniel Steuten, Royans Melbourne Winner; Jayden Breuker, Daimler Trucks Mt Gambier High Achievement Award; Wayne Taradel, Apprenticeships Qld (Drake Trailers) Certificate of Merit

Peter Langworthy Future Leader Award: Matthew Longridge, MaxiTrans – Carole Park

Industry Recognition Award: Bob Martin


Subscribe to our newsletter

Sign up to receive the Owner Driver e-newsletter, digital magazine and other offers we choose to share with you straight to your inbox

You can also follow our updates by liking us on Facebook


Trucks For Hire | Forklifts For Hire | Cranes For Hire | Generators For Hire | Transportable Buildings For Hire