Archive, Industry News

QTA honours leading industry achievers

Top operators a representation of state's industry professionalism says Russell


Queensland’s cream of the transport crop has been honoured by the Queensland Trucking Association (QTA) at its annual industry awards.

A strong show of support came from government allies in federal transport minister Michael McCormack and assistant freight minister Scott Buchholz, state transport minister Mark Bailey, Shadow transport minister Steve Minnikin, and Senator Murray Watt, who attended the event.

“The Awards this year are a true representation of the professionalism of the road freight industry in Queensland,” QTA president Julie Russell says.

“The people and companies recognised tonight are outstanding and the QTA is proud to have them as representatives of the association.

“On behalf of the QTA Board of Directors, I offer congratulations to all who have been honoured tonight and judged to be examples of excellence in our great industry.”

Six industry awards were presented on the night.

Industry Excellence Award: Rex Chapman (former QTA President (1991-2002))

“For over 35 years, Rex has had an association with the road freight industry from his younger years delivering bread, through to owning a fleet of trucks to his current profession as a trusted insurance broker,” QTA says.

“During Rex’s time as an operator, he formed a strong partnership with his insurer National Transport Insurance (NTI) and after his time as an operator, it was a natural transition to represent them as an authorised broker.

“Since 2006, Rex has been an NTI Roadteam representative and has been able to continue serving an industry that he lives and breathes. Rex has a strong and respected reputation in the industry and is hinged on his knowledge, skill, work ethic, leadership and his drive to improve skills and safety across the industry.”

QTA Trucking Woman of the Year: Kim Lunguaard (Dantrans and Darling Downs Brick Sales)

“Kim is an experienced business professional and for the past eight years has been instrumental in navigating the business through some of the most difficult times in the region.

“Kim has improved the capability of the business, achieved efficiencies and increased the business’ capacity to now deliver around Australia. With Dantrans celebrating their 35th year in business, Kim’s expertise in managing organisation change has ensured the future of local business.”

Young Achiever of the Year: Jordon Harrison (Followmont Transport recruitment manager)

“In his short career at the company, Jordan has managed to achieve milestones in the People and Culture team that have ensured that Followmont could continue to meet the demands of their evergrowing freight task around Queensland and NSW.

“An impressive bright star, Jordon has caught the eye of managing director Mark Tobin who said, ‘Jordan is an important part of the growth of the business and we are proud of the work he has achieved so far and look forward watching him further develop’.”

Professional Driver of the Year: Peter ‘Pedro’ Morris (owner-driver) and Donald Kaiwai (JR Stephens & Co)

“Pedro is a third-generation truck driver, an owner driver, and permanent sub-contractor to Daryl Dickenson Transport. He has recorded over 2 million kilometres incident and accident free throughout his driving career. Pedro exemplifies the image and ability of a professional driver with his extremely safe driving record and respected reputation.

How South East Queensland Hauliers won big last year, here

“Don was recognised for his technical ability and high level of expertise working in the container division of the business. Don’s skills and abilities are well utilised in the company as he mentors fellow drivers in this highly specialised freight task. Don is an employee with a passion for excellence and this extends into his personal life where he spends time competing in gruelling ironman events. Quite possibly the fittest truck driver in Australia, Don is a driver to be admired for his dedication to his job as well as his personal wellbeing.

Innovation and Safety Award: Speedie Contractors

“Speedie Contractors specialise in the transportation of liquid bitumen. In collaboration with Holmwood Highgate, Tim and Simon Knowles have engineered a trailer that has revolutionised the design of bitumen tankers today. The Electric Heat-in-Transit Tanker has revolutionised the design of Bitumen tankers. The new tanker improves efficiency in transit and reduces risk of exposure to hot bituminous product and potentially explosive stored product. It also improves access for operation, reduces on-road travel time and subsequent fatigue and challenged regulators to redefine safe transit requirements.

Daimler Emerging Leader of the Year: Athol Carter (Frasers Livestock Transport)

“The Emerging Leaders Scholarship Program was launched in 2018 and is about identifying emerging leaders in the industry, developing their capability to contribute to the productivity, efficiency and safety of their employer/business to lead them into the future. During his year as a scholarship recipient, Athol took on a project within Frasers to create a ‘Driver Offsider Program’ including stockman skills program to develop driver’s skills and capability to work specifically in the livestock transportation industry.

The 2019/20 Daimler Scholarship recipients were announced as Brett Couzens (Daimler Truck and Bus Australia), Letitia ‘Teash’ deWinter (IWS Haulage), Melira Lister (ALE Heavylift) and Raphael Toerkel (All PurposeTransport).


Previous ArticleNext Article
  1. Australian Truck Radio Listen Live
Send this to a friend